Peppers

A Turkish variety - Kandil dolma - so I thought they deserved a Turkish bowl. These peppers are a small miracle, among the many small miracles that gardening brings. I bought some seeds from the organic seed-savers Kokopelli a couple of years ago and sowed them last year, but only one germinating. Luckily the plant survived and produced about a dozen peppers, so we were able to save seed from them and this year we have a dozen plants and, so far, 60 or 70 peppers, with many more to come. I'll stuff these with rice, oregano and raisins. I like them green as they are now - they have a spicy flavour which reminds me of peppers I ate in Turkey when I was young.

I saw an eagle when I was in the garden this morning - a huge, rather sinister dark presence in the sky. As I reached for my camera it dived out of sight down the hill - unlucky for me, and unluckier still for whatever animal it had spotted. It looked darker than the short-toed eagle we've seen before, and may have been a golden eagle, just about possible here.

Tonight ten of us are going to a concert of mixed traditional Occitan music and jazz, having a meal in Pézenas first. It should be fun.

Taken with the manual lens again - not sure of the aperture as I tried different ones and can't remember which this was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.