Moments in a minor key

By Dcred

BASE METAL

Always been a sucker for a Land Rover, must be all that Army training in the days when they made a man of a small boy. I joined up not from any great want but because I thought I owed it to my Brother, he kept going on about joining the RAF & following in the footsteps of our father but in my fifteen year old wisdom I thought he should look at the boys in green as well so sent for the booklets in my name so I could have a read first, a couple of weeks later, instead of the postie dropping a brown important looking envelope on the door mat, we had a burly Sargent Major from Army Recruitment banging at the door, after trying to talk myself out of a punishment I decided that I'd better promise to take the Queens shilling and joined up on my seventeenth birthday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.