Red Squirrel

By JJRW

My pals the Ents

These trees have become almost like friends to me. They're in the grounds of where I work, on the site of an old family estate. I often go that way on my lunchtime walk. The first time I saw them the first thing that struck me was, with those massive root systems spreading down the small bank on which they're situated, how they remind me of the Ents (Lord of the Rings). They really do look as if they could just walk away from there! The roots of the 2 trees criss-cross each other on the bank between them, and there's a perfect 'cradle' formed there which is just perfect for plonking my backside into! I often just sit for 10-15 minutes, listening to the birdsong in the woods and contemplating life, the universe and everything. A wonderful remedy to my busy work enviornment. I feel so lucky to have this just a few minutes from my office.
It was a very bright lunchtime, so much light flooding into the scene - at other times, when it's cloudy, or mid-winter, there can be a quite ethereal feel to the place. It's really beautiful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.