La vida de Annie

By Annie

Atrium...

... at Sudley House. Another trip out today, courtesy of lovely photograper and teacher Phil. Lots of laughs despite wet weather which meant staying indoors instead of exploring the coastline or parks for photo ops. Phil has zero respect for anyone with tendancies to self-pity, so being addressed by the tender pet-name of Crip and being shoved erratically down a slope at speed are quite normal. We went to Sudley House first for a cuppa and a look round - I thought I was being pushed down a corridor to the tearooms at the usual outlandish speed until I realised he had wandered off to the loo thinking I was wheeling myself. I was alerted to the out-of-control nature of my progress by the look of horror on an elderly lady's face as she saw me hurtling towards her at the bottom. Luckily I managed to regain control without losing too much skin from my hands grabbing the guide wheels... Nothing much to see today at the house as they're in the process of rebuilding exhibitions; I was hoping the Edwardian costume display was still there but apart from some cool Pre-Rafaelite paintings there wasn't much to see, so here's a shopped-up shot of the atrium with a view of the chimneys on the roof.

Huge unhealthy pub roast lunch overlooking the very choppy river at high tide - seagulls were making little progress against the wind and were mostly flying backwards - and a lot of setting the world to rights, in my case mainly on the subjects of disability rights and access problems, and the fickleness of friends who prove to be no friends at all; in P's case the trauma of sorting out the contents of your childhood home when your parents have died. I've been there so I know how heartbreaking it is - whole lives illustrated by letters and keepsakes which someone employed to do house clearances would consign to a skip, but which as memories of lives well lived are precious and irreplacable.

All in all a good day, and another trip out to look forward to tomorrow courtesy of #2 daughter who came over from Leeds to attend an acting audition in Manchester - hope it's successful. Fingers crossed for tomorrow - first x-ray for 6 weeks...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.