Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

Boys toys

Amongst a load of other stuff during a busy day today, I dropped by to see my mate J. He is half of a two man partnership that builds these incredible machines. The machines test how slippery oil is. There seems to be loads of different (lubricant) oils and loads of additives in the world. To test their effectiveness an oil manufacturer needs one of these machines.

He did tell me all about them but there were a lot of them. This one (I think) tests jet fuel, others are built to test the oils used in wind turbine gearboxes.

They look like huge meccano kits, with extra tubes and pipes. They are sold all around the world, at the cost of a Ferrarri or so each!

For anyone who has just watched Luther - the music at the end was Grinderman, fronted by Nic Cave - Palaces of Montezuma. I'm pretending I'm hip - I didn't recognise it, but just thought "that's fantastic"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.