middleman

By middleman

Newington

A friend of mine from way back is working up in Scotland this week and came over on the train from Stirling for the evening, a fine evening of beer and chat. In my final year of university (1989-90) I lived in a shared house in Sheffield with 4 other blokes at 34 Newington Road. It was an amazing year with plenty of very fond memories, full of the kind of adventures and escapades that are all part and parcel of the student experience. I still did all the necessary coursework and was pretty diligent in that respect I'll be honest, but it's all the stuff around the academic side of things that has really stayed with me and still resonates. Mainly just daft stuff, the silly side of things and a few other bits and bobs that, you know, are all part of growing up but you wouldn't necessarily want your parents to find out about. (And now as a parent myself, I just know and accept that I'm not going to be told everything as my girls get older, and I think I'd prefer to keep it like that...)

Anyway - Ivan, Pete, Huw, Rob, we had an absolute ball.

Here's a song I really liked back then. Bit of an all-round classic

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.