Daily Wild

By emyjane

Seeing Red

Best view large (for coat/hind detail!)

Devon Red Rubies, native to North Devon. Some say that the Devon descended directly from the aboriginal Bos longifrons and contributed to the Hereford and other British breeds. They are native to Devon, Somerset & Dorset, not as large as their cousins the South Devon - a friend of ours has a small herd of those, I might go & take some pictures of them one day for here.

Devon cattle arrived at the Plymouth Colony in North America in 1623 & the Devon oxen were highly prized in the American Colonies for their strength, intelligence, endurance, and fast pace. Even today, Devons are sought for use as oxen.

I don't blame them.

These are big powerful stocky creatures. The Red Rubies were almost wiped out in these parts due to Foot & Mouth, luckily their gene had been transferred to large herds in Australia & many were imported back. These are heifers - which are young cows before their first calves. There were just 4 of them in this field, obviously bought for breeding stock & perhaps even for showing, as agricultural shows are big business here.

Anyone who knows me really well (like Daff!) will know my favourite animals are cows. I simply love them - I haven't eaten beef in 20 years. When I was a child my Devon holidays were spent mostly in the company of these placid, gentle animals - small herds of perhaps 9 to 12, would accept me into their field & treat me with such a delicate touch, almost as I was one of their own calves. I photographed them, drew them, gave them names & told them my troubles. They responded with unconditional love, so it was always so desperately sad when I had to leave them to their fate when I left for home in London. Just the mere thought that I'd never see them again was enough to make me cry, to weep into their huge fuzzy heads while hugging them & promising them that if I had them, they would have had a better & longer life with me. Such were the emotions of a small 11 year old, head over heels in love & awe with cows. I'm still the same really, just choke back the tears!

Oops essay, sorry about that!

Anyway, Larry flew into the Spotlight last night, I'm not surprised, he's an avian star, he's made a name for himself (ok, with a little help from me) Thank you for all the kind comments, stars & hearts xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.