thespotlightkid

By thespotlightkid

Facel Vega Paris

I intended to abstain today but I noticed this parked at the end of my road so I got the camera out. I've never seen a car like this before and I was intrigued by the name plate. It's as big as a 50s American muscle car.

It's a Facel Vega, made in Paris around 1954. Quite a special car evidently, and high-performance.

According to Wikipedia "Prominent owners of Facel Vegas included Pablo Picasso, Ava Gardner, Ringo Starr, Joan Fontaine, Stirling Moss, Tony Curtis, Dean Martin, Fred Astaire, Maurice Trintignant and several Saudi princes. Race-car driver Stirling Moss would drive his HK500 from event to event rather than fly.

The French writer Albert Camus died in a Facel Vega FV3B driven by his publisher, Michel Gallimard.

A Facel Vega appears in computer-animated form in the film Ratatouille (Pixar, 2007), driven by one of the main characters."

More Vega pictures:

Plate
Side view
Interior


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.