Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

Is it me?

I keep getting proof, if proof were needed, that English cannot possibly be my 1st language. That being Cumberland Dialect.

I took a fruitless trip up onto "Beacon Edge" to see what I could see. Root, mean, square of 2/3 of dammall, not even a moody, brooding, Ullswater valley.

As if it's not enough turning the second month of the year into "Febry", taking books out of the "Libry" and turning "controversy" (Which I always presumed entailed a degree of dis-agreement) into the hyphenated word "contra-versy" which you could be forgiven for translating as "speaking against".

NOW we have a sign which clearly implies that dogs on leads are not allowed, with words below telling me that dogs are not allowed unless they are on a lead.

DUH?!?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.