The Hanging Garden

By hanginggarden

Failed Shelves

My dear abode, Dundee.

So I had that soup for lunch, today, and jeez it was delicious, and sure enough it made me feel a whole lot better whilst at work. But that's not the story of today.
I'm in the kitchen preparing lunch for tomorrow, and hear an almighty crashing sound. In fact, everyone in the flat hears it, initially suspecting that one of us has taken a tumble, perhaps fainted, had a minor, personal accident and so forth. But after a quick investigation, it becomes apparent that the noise was the sound of my very shelves collapsing, throwing books, photo-frames and bottles across my floor.

They were budget B&Q shelves, and on closer inspection it was seen that the nails holding the buttress/web piece had all failed, shearing at the head. It was strange, actually, because we heard the sound of one shelf collapse and came in to inspect the damage, and as we were doing this, the other shelf, at right angles to it, collapsed there before us. Quite a sight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.