Deconstruction

St Luke's in the City is finally coming down.

I managed half a day of work today before heading home to nurse my cold. I swung by to see where things were at.

Safety is number one and the demolition guys make the call if and when parts of the ruins can be accessed and contents retrieved.

Here one of the crew carries a box and bag of items towards a shipping container for storage. In the background the Vicar heads back to get more.

It's huge. I can't really say how I feel. It's such a mixture. Relieved - finally the ruins are coming down. Something is finally happening. Sad - how can you not be? It was a beautiful and peaceful building, a land mark and part of Christchurch's history.

I didn't linger but I'm glad I got to be there briefly.

One more big sleep and I head to Lake Brunner on the West Coast with the hunter. I'll see how I feel tomorrow. On the up side, I don't have to do anything. If I'm up to it the hunter picks me up, drives and then I hunker down as it buckets down outside (as only the West Coast can do).

Bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.