Mr. Apple at Work

We had a pretty great Fourth of July today. We decided to be really ambitious and get up early to go for a hike up Mt. Si, which we had never done before. It was 4 miles nothing-but-up to the summit and 4 miles of nothing-but-down to get back. The day was clear though and we had an amazing view of Mt. Ranier and to Seattle. We even got our picture taken at the top which would make a great blip most days. At the end, my legs were really killing me but I am still glad we did it.

Later in the day, we were thinking about what we wanted to do to watch the fireworks. In recent years we haven't gone anywhere and it's been kind of anti-climactic. Mr. Apple remembered that there was perhaps a view from the room of his office building so we decided to give it a shot. We went in to the office and found a few other families already gathering on the roof for the show. I got to snap this picture of Mr. Apple sitting at his desk. I love the way it looks - even better LARGE!

By the time the night was over there were probably 50 people watching the fireworks together on the roof. It was really fun to get to watch fireworks with little children, something I've never done. We loved hearing their oohs and aahhs and how they would shout out "Flower!" "Planet!" "Hearts!" "Happy face!" every time they recognized a shape. At one point, the little girl who sat next to me turned and asked me, "Who's mama are you?" and I felt very weird saying "I am no one's mama. I don't have children." Mr. Apple reminded me that there's probably no one in her entire world who isn't known as someone's mom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.