Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Breakfast Bags

At home, we are awakened, usually around 5 in the morning, by the sound of loud meowing and scratching at the bedroom door. They know that's when we may start to think about getting up, and whether it's the weekend or holiday time is of no consequence to our feline masters!

However, at the Artist Residence Hotel we wake around 8 to the sound of the sea, and lie in bed waiting for a quiet rustling noise outside our door!

The rustling means that breakfast has arrived! It comes in bags (these weren't ours - by the time I took this, ours were long-finished) like these, which contain a bottle of juice, a croissant, a pot of yogurt and a pot of fruit. The Wonderspouse has all the fruit and I have all the yogurt! It's very good stuff! :-)

After breakfast we packed up our stuff and then headed out to town to buy just ONE of the items from my list from yesterday. Just one that I was unable to resist and would have regretted leaving behind. I'll not tell you about it now because I'll blip it in future on a day when I can't find anything else to inspire me!

Then we checked out, got in the car, and had a rather slow journey home, although we were back in time to go to the butcher to pick up meat, to the supermarket to pick up food, and to the doctor to collect my repeat prescriptions!

Once home there was the usual trepidation to see whether all seven of our furry friends were OK, and then delight as we discovered they were. Cuddles all round and welcomes home! Then the Wonderspouse cleaned up cat doings and fed all the cats while I cleaned up rat doings and fed the rats! It's lovely to see them all again!

And so ends this year's summer holiday. We can't really go away for more than 2 nights with all the beasts at home since we can't afford catteries at the moment and we have too many to ask a neighbour to look after these days. Furthermore, we like to stay in a "nice" hotel - hostels and camping and so on are not for us, so we take short breaks in more luxurious places these days. Maybe when we have either fewer animals or more money this will change, but we've loved our time in Brighton!

And now the Wonderspouse is cooking supper and I must go and eat. As I type this I'm accompanied by the sound of Charlie crunching rat nuggets, which is lovely!

It was a wonderful holiday, but it's also lovely to be home! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.