Colin McLean

By ColinMcLean

Framed

This is at the Royal Botanic Garden Edinburgh, and is a view through the 100 year old giant Beech Hedge to one of the demonstration gardens.

The "Botanics" must feature in the personal histories of everyone who has ever lived in Edinburgh. I was certainly introduced to them when my parents took us as children, where I have memories of my first sighting of a (grey) squirrel - they are still common there today and I saw several on this visit.

I got to know the Gardens better when I stayed not far away in my final year at University, where they were a frequent escape from studying. I have fond memories too of the Gallery of Modern Art, then located in Inverleith House in the centre of the Gardens, before it was relocated to larger premises elsewhere. The exhibitions at Inverleith House were my first introduction to modern art, explained, sometimes in vain, by a knowledgeable friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.