While on my runs

By waipushrink

Start of a lovely day

This morning I woke to a relatively calm morning without a lot of cloud, so decided I would go to the top of Maungawhau to celebrate my birthday. On the way there I was treated to this view of the recently risen sun still low over the inner Hauraki Gulf islands; as far as I can tell that it is Motuihe immediately below the sun.

I really like the silhouette of tree and buildings, so didn't lighten the shadow to bring out the Grafton Bridge. The line of reflected light is the perspex protective barriers.

I went on with my run, and near the top of Maungawhau was a parked car with a woman setting up a small folding table on which she was putting plastic drinking tumblers with water. I asked her what it was for, and she is the support crew to an 18 strong running group in training for a marathon. She was about the halfway point in their weekend long run of about 20 km. She offered me some water, and invited me to join the group; I declined both and went on my way.

Later this morning my wonderful S and I went to our daughter's home where she and her husband provided a great brunch of corn fritters and bacon and coffee, while the boys were all over me. Except for when I took the telephone call from son in Sydney and also spoke to his two children. The celebrations finished with a wonderful chocolate cake baked and decorated by said daughter, all for her Pa.

Back home for the afternoon (staying inside away from the returning rain and strong winds), to read messages of love for me on facebook, including one from the London daughter who is yet to wake for her Saturday.

Its been worth getting another number on the ageometer. I feel blessed by my family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.