Day by Day with Otago Lad

By otagolad

Hillside Protest

Today Mrs O and I ventured into the big smoke of Dunedin to check out the meeting to protest against the culling of jobs at the Hillside Workshops and the purchase of the replacement rolling stock that could have been built here, from Korea. It seems really stupid to me, laying people off in your own country and creating jobs in another country but Im not fully aware of ALL the details so I best not get on my soapbox here.
It was more like an old school political meeting that I remember my Dad taking me to before I was old enough to vote. Seeing Rob Muldoon at a meeting at the Taieri High School is a memory burned into my mind, he was such a prick.
We were lucky to meet up with Clive Copeman who gave us a ride back to Mosgiel as on the way in the car had decided that it didn?t want to go any longer. Bloody brilliant, anyway....

It got me thinking...........

Where and when will we again see the local candidates debating the issues rather than just sledging each other and all making promises that none of them have any intention of keeping?
Politics really is getting dirtier and dirtier and it saddens me to see this.
It was great to see the local Labour candidates especially Pete Hodgson and Clare Curran really getting into the issues, I hope we see more of this leading up to the election on November 26th

My Dad started work at Hillside the day after they arrived in Dunedin in 1961 so I feel for the workers concerned more than most, it gave them an awesome opportunity that ended up with me as a result.
I hope this decision gets overturned!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.