On My Doorstep

By bwhere

Something Remains - 1

In 1995 I constructed the latticework* you see in the photo I am holding. I then bent the latticework round to form the wall of a replica Mongolian yurt. I didn't use felt for the covering. I used canvas for the wall and a waterproof covering for the roof both of which were made by someone who normally made covers for lorry loads.

The resulting structure was fun to build and fun to use. There is something special about enclosing a space and using it as a dwelling, however temporary.

The framework you can see in the rest of this image is what has become of the wall of the yurt. It now supports a Russian Vine and has old seats in it to form what I call the "Men's Institute".

* The latticework was made out of split ash I transported from the Lake District and then planed flat. It was quite an undertaking.

Still, something remains.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.