Definitely Visible

By allieballie

Bloomers

Stayed in all day waiting for plasterers to turn up. They didn't.

Monsoon strength rain this afternoon - making such a noise as it hit every part of the house, that I felt like I was inside a snare drum being hit by a hundred drumsticks at the same time. It was cake-making weather. Decided to make a Fruit Torte from Sophie Grigson's "Sunshine Food" book. Maybe this would act like a sort of reverse raindance and coax the sun to come back out.

In her book, she suggests using peaches or plums, but I knew our local shop wouldn't have those. What it would have though was nectarines - rock hard and sour undoubtedly, but should be Ok to go in a cake which would have lots of sugar to sweeten them up and whose long cooking time would soften them up. In fact the shop had two different sorts - punnets of nectarines and packs of necterines. Both from the same supplier - so why were they spelt differently?

Incorrect spelling on items in the public domain irks me. Of the things I'm really good at - and I am the first to admit that there are not many things I am really good at - spelling is one (if there are any spelling mistakes in my photo descriptions they will be a result of poor typing skills). Just for the record, off the top of my head the only other things I can think of that I could add to the "really good at" list would be map reading and making potato salad.

It's not that I can't sympathise with those who can't spell well - my job alone (Learning Support Teacher) would testify to that, it's just that when I see spelling mistakes like this it makes me go tut-tut! However, I bought these rather than the correctly spelt punnet of nectarines because I thought I could photograph it alongside this leaflet that came through the door yesterday. It was advertising a local festival - and I would so love to know what the "Bust Trip" is all about!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.