Plus ça change...

By SooB

You've been framed

I think you'll just have to get used to building site shots for a while. It was this or the dead sparrow chicks on the terrace - and that was so gruesome that I didn't want to get near it never mind photograph it.

This is the same room as yesterday's. As you can see the floor is a little less shiny when dry, and already quite dirty with footprints. This will be our room, so Mr B is dividing it to make a little shower room and dressing room too. Today's efforts began with Mr B popping into town to pick up some wood. That builders merchant already thinks we're amusingly eccentric (they don't say that, of course, and if they did I probably wouldn't understand the French - but I can see the way they look at us when we amble in) so I'm sure Mr B popping the 3.6m lengths of wood in the convertible (roof down) will have added to that.

Then onto framing - using metal. In the UK folk normally use wood for this (though metal is used by some) but here the wood is outrageously expensive, so we've gone the local route. Our neighbour, Stan, kindly offered to lend a hand (and a reliable electricity supply after Mr B got an electric shock* from our generator) and worked away with us all day. I think I'm going to like being part of this community.

So, most of the framing you see here is now plasterboarded; tomorrow we'll finish that off and tackle the door. And I might try and find a more interesting shot for you. I did get close up and personal with a red squirrel today, and a hoopoe - but I didn't have my camera with me either time. The kids started French lessons with a girl who lives at the riding school - and seemed to have a whale of a time. I think playing games is the way to go - she had some really imaginative games to play with them. Back tomorrow for more I think. Mr B, meanwhile, was having lessons in French from our neighbour. They seemed to have a rule that you had to speak in the language that's not your own (ie Stan speaking English and Mr B speaking French). A little unfair on Mr B as Stan speaks rather good English. Stan also helpfully corrects my woeful grasp of compound verbs and gender.

*After two lunchtime beers he said his arms had stopped tingling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.