Paul Morgans

By BakewellPie

They're not my shoes!

Amongst many excursions around the peak today I've blipped a photo from a visit to Cromford Mill.
Cromford Mill was the first water-powered cotton spinning mill developed by Richard Arkwright in 1771 in Cromford, Derbyshire, England, which laid the foundation of his fortune and was quickly copied by mills in Lancashire, Germany and the United States.
I do believe it was the first of what we now know as factories and started the Industrial Revolution.
A wonderful place steeped in history but unlike some mills that I visit particulary in Lancashire it doesn't have an air of gloom about it.
I find it a bit of a shame that it is not utilised better, what you get here is a hodge podge of art galleries, flower shops, antique shop, cafe' etc. i.e. the usual what the tourist industry thinks tourists want.
Maybe the majority of tourists do want this, but I get increasingly frustrated by the lack of vision used in luring people into these amazing pieces of history.
You've lured me in now deliver but its usually an anticlimax.
It's a world heritage site resting on its laurels.
Still worth a visit though.
This little dog seen at the Mill took my blip of the day as I just love the way he looks at you as if to say, 'Look mate those shoes are nothing top do with me'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.