Those Simple Things

By simplethings

Authentic.

This is a piece of an authentic Korean fan that was given to me. My sister-in-law is from South Korea. She and my brother met in high school and were married the winter before last. She gave me this fan for some some special occasion, which I cannot remember. The fan is quite big, and it has it's own little stand. The fan depicts young women playing some sort of see-saw game. There is a board of wood on a log. One girl sits in the middle of the board, as a base. Another girl jumps on one end, sending whoever is on the other end into the air. That's what you're seeing. This girl has obviously been launched. Also, in the background, there is a farmer leading his animal with a wagon. The fan is hand-painted, and this picture does not show most of the detail.

I had a wonderful day today. I'm trying to control my raging emotions, but sometimes I just need to have a dramatic day, you know?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.