Life Slips By

By Cider12

Dwarfs and giants

I have absolutely the coolest brother in the world! About a month ago I showed him a close-up photo of a grasshopper on blip and told him I wanted to be able to do photos like that. He said, "Oh, well you'll need a macro lens for that."

So I looked up macro lenses online, saw the price, and thought, "Well, maybe next year..."

Fast forward to yesterday, when look what arrives in the mail--an old Canon 100mm macro lens that he found on ebay for cheap! Plus...an extension tube and an adapter so I can connect the whole thing to my micro 4/3's camera!!

Nothing automatic about this baby, which means I'm still learning how to use it correctly...

(I think my brother's just tickled that someone else in the family has caught the photography bug and he's trying to fuel my addiction...)



I took the new lens out to Griffy Woods today. The fungus on the right, on a fallen tree root, is bigger than my head...the one on the left (Cantharellus minor) is smaller than my little finger. Hopefully Pooba will be pleased...I made sure I had the gills in this one.


Extra macro shots:

Cicada shell

Tiny, velvety mushrooms

Fungus growing on a mushroom (fungus on fungus)



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.