Myriad of Memories

By Shamoo

Derma-blipping!!

Ok so this blip may just freak you out a bit as it looks like I have been mauled by a tiger! Truth is I am allergic to touch...
About 10 years ago I started getting rashes/hives for no reason. I would get burning under my skin with an itch that you could not even imagine! The only problem was that whenever I touched the rash, it would spread!
Eventually I was seen by a dermatologist who said I was basically allergic to touch. Nice. The histamines in my body react differently to physical touch and inflame. It is quite a common condition called dermographism - which means 'writing on the skin'. What is uncommon is the severe burning and itching, which has been known to send people crazy (literlly!) and only affects around 3% of those diagnosed. Also the rashes are different depending on the individual. I was told it wouldnt last long and that the symptoms would disappear.....yeah right!!! So till this day I am on the strongest antihistamines every day and have to avoid wearing anything too tight! Even wearing a bra can leave me in agony for hours!
So this pic isnt of me having been attacked, its simply me having been let loose with a back-scratcher - felt great at the time! And a little help from Powercut to get a little blip action going on (if you look closely youi will see it!).
Not only that but I am almost completely deaf in one ear and rapidly losing hearing in my 'good' ear too. I have a hospital appointment tomorrow where I'm going to present them with the theory that all this may be linked.... So if there are any diagnostics out there that could help it would be great (especially if your name is Gregory House as I love you muchly!).
On the plus side, I have a crazy Rog beside me who is attacking my shoe!! Big loves to ya'll!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.