A wee bit special

~~Backblip~~

So I'd planned to play with the lights today. You saw the supplies I bought on Friday, and Mathew was going to help me, but...

... On Saturday morning, Mathew was working so I got stuck into my dissertation. On the last chapter, but that's only about 20% of the way through the entire thing if I decide to go on and finish it (and why not if I've come this far)! After his first lesson, he phoned me to say there was something going on down the esplanade. We'd completely forgotten it was Penarth's festival week, and today was Carnival day.

I hauled my ass into and out of the shower. I could hear the classic car parade with accompanying samba band on foot... but couldn't get dressed in time to see it. I toddled off down to the pier, and was quickly told to toddle back off it... it was closing for a bit, due to a Spitfire & Lancaster Bomber flyover. I got some pics of that... some not too bad, but nothing amazing. i will tidy them up and put them on the flickr later. Most amusing part was the whole town of Penarth staring towards Cardiff (as advised to do by the entertainment type people on the stage) only for the planes to come in from the Barry side.

Also got some pics of people jet-skiing and water-skiing. Then I got bored on my own, so went home for a bit before walking over the barrage to the bay to meet Mathew for the International Food Festival. We had a little wander around there - it was bloody heaving - but didn't buy anything (unless you count starbucks).

To round off the festivities in Penarth, they always have a fireworks display. I got some pics of those from our balcony, as you can see. This is the one I liked the most. Technically it's not the best, but I like it :) I did consider cropping out the rooftops, but I thought it added a nice bit of context.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.