Saturday in the park

The rain stopped and the sun came out, so I wheeled out the bicycle for a quick, local spin. I was pleased to see that scaffolding is starting to go up around the library, which is still closed after thieves stole the copper roof and the building flooded in June. The roof is now being replaced with a non-metallic covering. Hooray!

I cycled once around the cemetery, where I saw that the crematorium roof is still under tarpaulin with no scaffolding. Its roof was also stolen for its copper on the same day that the library had its roof stolen.

The sun still shone so I whizzed down to Dulwich Park for a veggie sausage sandwich. I was stared at by several pigeons for the duration of the sandwich scoffing, but they didn't break me down. Human - 1, pigeons - 0.

In the evening, I went to Somerset House to see Stornoway. None of the band is from the Hebrides - they're from Oxford. I was impressed by the music and the banter. A band to watch, I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.