Compost Mentis

By megatonlove

Medeski, Martin & Wood with Bill Evans

Christ, what an evening we had at the Gent Jazz Festival.

It began with the Terence Blanchard Quintet and ended with Chick Corea & Return to Forever 4.

But the best part for me was Randy Brecker/Bill Evans Soulbop featuring Medeski, Martin & Wood. MM&W are perhaps my favourite jazz group. The kind of music they play is hard to define because they're always pushing boundaries. It's intelligent and playful and makes me want to dance. They played a blistering set. If I ever find my ear drums again, I'm sure there'll be scorch marks on them.

It was very tricky getting a clear photo because the sound in the front was so loud it was causing camera shake. I like this picture even though Randy Brecker was standing too far off to the left to be included in the frame.


from left to right:
Billy Martin, drums
Bill Evans, saxophone
Chris Wood, bass
John Medeski, melodica, keyboards


I've posted more concert pics in my Blipfolio

~ a backblip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.