PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Scrambled Eggs?

Here's a starling and friend. Not sure who 'friend' is exactly. He's been around for months and is there feeding in my mother's garden every morning. His wing and body markings look like a dunnock, but he has these bright yellow stripes down his face. He's one of a kind, and I'm wondering if he's a cross-breed between a dunnock and a greenfinch (or a dunnock and chaffinch?). All these species are prolifically represented in the garden, and happily feed together, alongside starlings, blackbirds, robins, thrushes and pigeons. (And the occasional rook.)

By the way, the swallow is still sitting on her eggs, right by the front door. Each time I go out, I peep through the fish-eye lens and, as soon as she hears the key in the door, she flies off, and returns quite quickly when she perceives I've gone. Same when I return, flies off, then straight back once I'm in the house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.