wingpig

By wingpig

nine to five

Considering the sparse and crappy bicycle parking provided at Edinburgh Waverley (which very few people use for fear of their bicycle being spoilt by neds or construction workers) it's always cheering to see the huge and well-utilised sea of bicycle racks at York station.
Of course, it would be better if there were less bicycles here and more being taken on the train with their owners so that they can use them at the other end but it's a start.

If more people used their bicycle to get to the train station then less people would buy cars meaning that less cars would be manufactured meaning that less cars would be transported along the east coast main line meaning that less wagons carrying thirty-odd cars would catch fire somewhere around Drem meaning that we wouldn't have had to stand in a queue in Waverley for an hour and twenty minutes to get a bus to Berwick-upon-Tweed which took an hour and twenty minutes meaning that we wouldn't have had to change at both York and Doncaster rather than just Retford to get to Lincoln and would generally have arrived in Woodhall Spa at about a quarter to two rather than half-past four. We did gain a little time by means of the suicidally insane Brylaine bus driver who drove at about ten miles over every speed limit (steaming at seventy past the "68 road traffic deaths so far this year" signs) from Lincoln but I'd rather have invested that time in a safer future. Last time I was driven that fast in the bus the driver (a temp who wasn't used to our school bus route) scraped one of those hairpin-bend warning signs just before a hump-back bridge. An interesting sensation on the top deck of the bus. Anyway, the light was just fading as we walked to my parents' from the bus stop at the end of the road so a picture from earlier in the day is used instead. The second-place shot of one of the MILLIONS of trainspotters infesting Doncaster's popular Platform 5 will be uploaded when I get back. No ftp cleint installed here and I'd have to look up my settings and so on and it took me long enough to gingerly get the pictures onto my dad's computer in the first place without losing them and buggering up the memory card.

Early start tomorrow so I won't hang about. I was going to go for a little walk to a couple of favourite places but probably don't have the time seeing as I must be up at two to leave at three. I'll be back soon enough. Just take my word for it that it's really pretty and woodlandy round here although my parents' garden currently contains the skellingtons of two trees which fell victim to the wind a couple of weeks ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.