Pestilence Re-branding...

If there's one thing that could probably define a camping holiday in Scotland, it is the mighty midgie. I use the word mighty in quite a true sense for North West Scotland as they are absolute belters.

Whilst overnight, as I was with the kids, we were confined to the bedroom part of the tent. Partly because it was late but also because the midgies were now out in force. We used the time between bedtime and sleeptime (which in this case was about 3 hours overdue) to re-brand the midgie.

From this day hence, in our house, the midgie shall now be called the mudgie. Granted, it's not a big re-branding, one letter, but it does sort of take the edge of the name that strikes fear into the outdoor enthusiast. Not that I think they deserve any slack, they are immensely hugely annoying but it gave us something to blether about, way past bedtime.

On a separate note, I've not been camping since anti-midgie headgear has become the norm. It was rather funny seeing two people sitting at their camping table, chatting, wearing full head midgie nets. Everyone was wearing them. I think I may invest for next trip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.