Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Pedicure...

It was so lovely to have a day free - although actually I seem to have been busier than ever. As promised, I took the dogs out early, but I didn't even take my camera out of its case. The weather was grey and breezy, pleasant for walking, but not very inspiring for photography. There was the first feeling of autumnn in the air - that indefinable smell that always makes me feel excited. The guelder rose berries are deep orange now, and I saw the first ripe blackberries in our local patch. I also saw a solitary gatekeeper butterfly - the first of the year!

As I was coming towards the end of the Electricity Cut I noticed a seagull behaving in a very agitated fashion, screeching and flying towards the water. This was accompanied by a loud quacking. I stopped and watched, and was just in time to see a mink swimming in the shallow water. It had captured a new duckling, and swiftly jumped out of the water with it in its jaws, ran across the concrete weir and into the reeds.

Although they have their own beauty, I find it hard to like mink. They are vicious predators that can decimate ground nesting bird populations and have been a significant contributory factor in the disappearance of water voles from many of our major rivers. In the fens we are lucky that water voles thrive in the many smaller drains and ponds that are generally less attractive to mink.

Otherwise it was mostly a day of holiday preparation. I finally managed to get a new pair of walking boots (in the sale) as well as a couple of pairs of cargo pants. The boys (who are looking after the house and animals while we're in Orkney) and I have discussed what they'll eat when we're away and we've made a shopping list. They've also been instructed in the art of chicken keeping! Chris and Lizzie went out for a walk this afternoon, and came back with a bag full of cherry-plums which they'd gathered from a local hedgerow. They then proceeded to turn this into a delicious crumble - so tasty!

So today my blip is another studio portrait. Pete brought back this fully winged Roesel's bush cricket from his survey today. This form is quite rare, as normall thay have very short wings and are flightless.It is supposed to appear predominantly during hot summers and enables the species to extend its geographical range rapidly while conditions are suitable. I photographed the whole insect and then moved in for some close ups. In this one it seems to be giving itself a bit of a pedicure - though as a child I always got told off for biting my fingernails!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.