Kath's Journal

By Kathb

Nature Watch

I have become very good at skiving off work on a Tuesday afternoon in order to take my sister's grandchild on nature walks. My sister comes too, of course. I couldn't / don't want to manage the two of them on my own. I sometimes have to work in the evening to make up the lost hours, but that is a small price to pay.

Because I had to attend a meeting this morning, I was a little late in arriving at the house, so we went to the nearby Brockholes nature reserve. We saw and photographed lots of things including flowers, butterflies, caterpillars, damselflies and snails.

The children, like most, are very imaginative. Nearly every tree stump or broken branch resembles something else. They will tell you that they also saw a meerkat, a lion and a hippopotamus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.