Thistle Down

By Ethel

What Freedom Means

Want to know,
What freedom means?
Coming from one,
That's in their teens.

Want to hear,
How glad I am.
Belonging here,
With Uncle Sam?

Course I know,
This freedom land.
Started with,
A pilgram band.

Teacher said,
In history.
How mighty glad,
We ought to be.

I know it's grand,
To be a part.
Fluttering tells me,
In my heart.

But proud I am,
Of this country.
Just a-living in,
A land so free.

Free from shells,
A-bursting there.
And red-blood running,
Every where.

Free from folks,
All filled with woe.
And a-standing with,
No place to go.

Free from hungry,
Dying faces.
Lurking around,
In filthy places.

Free to read,
The evening papers.
Political views,
And Alley-Oop capers.

Free to take,
A look inside.
At refrigerators,
That open wide.

Free to have,
A clean, white bed.
A resting place,
To lay my head.

Free to smile,
And laughter give.
Free each day,
To really live.

Free to honor,
My country's name.
To do my bit,
And bring her fame.

Free to praise,
Her wonderful views.
To marvel long,
At scenic hues.

Free for service,
For which I yearn.
Chances for learning,
At every turn.

Free in Church,
To really laud.
The trodden pathway,
Unto God.

Free to kneel,
And softly say.
Bless my country,
Everyday.

Free to cherish,
Without a fear.
My freedom land,
And all that's dear.

In wiser years,
Beyond my teens.
Help me to know,
WHAT FREEDOM MEANS.


E.P. 1908 - 1989


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.