A Dog's Dinner

By G

Room of Doom - Day 2

Today BB and I got stuck in and stripped the room back to the outside walls.

Things we found:

1.A crack running the whole height of the building through which you can see daylight. Actually this is not as bad as it sounds (really!). It looks like the damage was done with in the first year of the house's life.

2. Three places with damp but no rot.

3. A lot of bat shit but no bats

4. Some very dodgy electrics

5.Polystyrene tiles on top of the original wood ceiling but under the dry lining and the
anaglypta.

It's hard to believe but I remember when polystyrene tiles were the 'in thing' My dad put them up in the kitchen and we thought they were the bees knees. They looked sci-fi and modern. Which also made me think about an ad campaign which ran in Glasgow at that time.

Slick Chics Dig Dicks. Dicks was a wallpaper shop in the south side of the city and they had cheap day-glo posters all over the place saying - Slick Chick Dig Dicks.

As I was about twelve at the time I didn't get the joke. I knew it was funny but I could never understand why I used to get told off for saying it.

Anyway my dad bought his polystyrene tiles there - I bet he got the joke

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.