MaggieD

By MaggieD

Room with a view

This vista can be seen from my mother's house. This is the view I had for years from my bedroom window. Believe it or not I have never taken a photo of it before. It is in rural Lanarkshire and was never really appreciated by me until I moved away .

As a youngster I remember running upstairs when Dad was due home to see if I could see his car coming up the road! The building on the right of the photo (behind the tree) is where I went to school. There were only five pupils in my class. The school is now being refurbished and has been saved from closure, thank goodness.

There is a huge field in the foreground which has a great slope for sledging. Many days in very cold winters were spent here.

At night away in the distance the streetlights of South Lanarkshire twinkled. It was always a favourite sight of my visiting cousins as they looked out the window before bedtime.

This all came about today because we visited Mum. John was preparing her gates for painting. Yes, he will be seeing gates and fences in his sleep after all this!!


Later we went down to see Euan who was 5 months old today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.