Dave Akerman

By daveake

The Highest Point

This is the result of 5 months of research and development work, to send cameras and tracking equipment up into near space, and (to quote someone famous) "return them safely to Earth".

Back in February I saw a youtube video referenced on another photographic forum. The video showed 2 guys sending a weather balloon up, and included video taken by the on-board camcorder. I was stunned at the pictures and amazed that all it seemed to take was some standard electronic items. some foam polystyrene and duct tape, string, a parachute and of course a balloon and helium. I thought about perhaps having a go myself, and the deal was sealed when a friend said "So, when are you doing yours?"!

Mine was bit more complicated, with better tracking equipment including a radio transmitter sending out the GPS position of the balloon throughout the flight. Even though it was a very low power transmitter (about 100'th the power of your mobile phone), the signal was picked up by others up to 300 miles away!

Lots more information on my blog. Meanwhile, I'll leave you with this, my favourite shot, taken a couple of seconds after the balloon burst at 98,810 feet.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.