Gifts of Grace

By grace

Weeds?

I spent a stolen half hour blipping a dead bumble bee trapped in the web of a beady yellow spider. The spider scuttled off when I arrived, leaving the carcass, a little mummified cocoon, dangling by a thread, to the ants.

My sympathies lay entirely with the bee until continued attention (and the zoom lens) revealed such a host of insects living on and around this vignette. Including the horde of baby spiderlings waiting for lunch.

Walking away I saw this host of tiny white flowers in the neglected pots from last year that I've been too busy to refurbish. I swear I've never seen these little stars before 'though I can't imagine they are uncommon. I'm learning to say 'I've never noticed them before.' Maybe one of our knowledgeable wildlife folks will know their name?

They just seem to me so immensely cheerful

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.