dark|adapted

By dark

Mouth of the Canyon



Q: What to get if you take a blender and throw in "Donnie Darko," a little "Mulholland Drive," a generous helping of "Strange Days," and a dash of Wim Wenders' "Until the End of the World" - all as adapted by a 12-year-old with a particularly sophomoric sense of humour?


A: A complete waste of 2 1/2 hours of my life, aka "Southland Tales" - Richard "Donnie Darko" Kelley's new film.

I'll be generous and call it a waste of 2 hours of my life, because there were a few cool moments in there, and Moby's music was enjoyable enough. But otherwise....

I never imagined it was possible for one film to be so pretentious and silly, self-important and sophomoric, inexplicable and stupid, all at exactly the same time. It's certainly a puzzle, but not in the way the writer/director intended.

i hope this doesn't mean "Donnie Darko" was a fluke....




P.S. - I know, I know - this shot doesn't work very well for blip at all. I have the hardest time trying to force myself to shoot in squares. Here it is a little bigger.









Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.