Rainy Thursday

The day is just beginning... well it's close to noon now so maybe not quite beginning. It's raining outside, good for the plants, not so good for the spirits of Bellinghamsters who have endured more than the usual number of cold gray days this spring and summer.

I went out this morning to get the paper. My first look was at a young flicker who flew into our picture window yesterday afternoon. It was very sad because we had just been watching his mother feed him and his sibling on top of a telephone pole just across the alley from our house. Then "Bang!" He flew at top speed into the window and plummeted to the ground below. I went to check on him and he was dying. His neck was broken. So very sad. I carried him in (careful not to touch him with my bare hands) and made sure he was not going to survive. Then I placed him softly by our driveway where he still was this morning. It was a sad and wet bird photo that I decided not to post.

Along the driveway are beautiful Day Lilies. They are just beginning to come out. This one is an early type and here it is in mid July. Very late indeed. With the rain the flowers looked very beautiful so I decided to post one of them instead of the bird.

We have plans later today to go to a glass blowing demo in town. Could produce more interesting images but I decided to do this now and get on with my day. So here you have another wet flower blip. Albeit a beautiful wet flower. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.