Peninsula Light

By PeninsulaLight

Apologies, you can tell its Blip of desperation, in an attempt to catch something in the last of the daylight. Of course I could have just given the spiel below and attempted to bluff my way though... but that's not my style.

The UK landscape is covered in power lines, telephone lines, poles and pylons. Some folk go to extremes to exclude such signs of human intervention, whilst allowing others like: fences; gates; houses and walls... but only if they're old. If they're decrepit so much the better. Other folk will edit them out later.

I'm for none of that stuff - show it as it is, rather than how you'd like it to be. Yes I will avoid some things in the scene, but I won't go to extremes to do so. I may intentionally include some power lines, or whatever, by making them a feature, or using them to influence the composition. Yes, they could be a positive addition (IMHO).

As far as editing things out goes, I do make what I would term corrections for what may have been added to the scene by the camera... or its operator! That may include: distortion; flare spots; muck on the lens or sensor; minor exposure errors. Sloping horizons are a constant bugbear, especially if straightening it means you loose something important from the scene. The camera was level(ish) in yesterday's shot, but the distant (sea) horizon wasn't visible, due to a rather large wave passing by. It hid Cromarty too!

The above shot has been cropped to 3x4 dimensions, which I often prefer for portrait (as opposed to 2x3) - so I do often "inflict" minor cropping on shots too.

Had I leveled this shot off, it would have been okay for the main subject, but I would have chopped off most of Ms P. Middleton. I didn't know what she looked like, and only discovered that I'd captured some shots of this recent celebrity after the event. Likewise, I didn't straighten the three shots before that she also appeared in (1, 2, 3).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.