To See New Englandly

By distractedhausfrau

It Takes a Village

Today was our town's annual Old Home Day, a busy day that started early for me when I went up to the library to help set up for our annual used book sale. Took some photos for the paper, and still had time to enjoy the sights, eat a snowcone, enjoy barbecued chicken at the fire fighters' fundraiser, and participate in the cakewalk. Unfortunately we didn't win a cake this year, but at least I had thought ahead. I baked two cakes: I donated one to the cakewalk and kept one to quell any possible tears and/or bad feelings over not winning a cake. It was the best stroke of foresight I've had all year.

(Photo is one that ran in the paper. The boy is the son of one of the volunteer fire fighters, and every year his job is to spray the chicken with a secret sauce. I loved the look on his face.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.