Well, I Declare!

Yesterday I heard a radio report that 4 out of 10 Americans don't know the year in which America declared its independence. And 3 out of 10 Americans had no idea from which country we declared our independence (back in 1776, if you're one of those first four I mentioned). I was a bit surprised, but what was even more embarrassing was an Australian who was interviewed for the news story and who knew the answers without hesitating. I had to ask my daughter, and while I didn't expect her to get the year (she's only six after all), she did indeed know that we became independent "from England." Of course, we're surrounded by living history where we are, so I suppose she does have a leg up.

Anyhow, today she came across some LED lights I'd purchased back when I took a light painting class. She suggested we do some light painting with some red, white, and blue. I couldn't have come up with a better way to celebrate the Fourth of July!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.