PrimeMart

By PrimeMart

The Project

A couple of days ago, my wife uttered the words that every husband fears....

The words which make the phrase 'not tonight I have a headache' seem like a blessing.

Yes she said....

'Mart you need a PROJECT.'

Apparently I have been 'lounging' around to long,' apparently the bathroom in the east wing (I wish) needs 'DOING.'

Of course I protested, my doctor would not recommend it - but apparently she would.

'and you smooth out those horrible artex stipples on the ceiling, while you are AT IT.'

Again I protested, I love those stipples, they add to the charm of the room, I like the way they graze my head every time I step in to the shower. But Tracey is sneaky, she employed psychological warfare.

'Is is too difficult for you? Bruno managed to do his front room, and that is much bigger than the bathroom.'

Now she had bought in a competive element, I had to rise to the challenge.

I slapped so much stuff on to the ceiling that head clearance was reduced to toddler levels. I have since sanded it all off again so that it has the smoothness of a babies bottom, and head clearance has improved to tolerable levels.

Fortunately a friend will do all the bits in the bathroom which require a degree of accurate cutting or measuring. My role will be simply doing the grunt stuff.

Heavy rain today, so Dozy may not be playing steel pans at Stroud Country Fair after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.