From Dawn to...

By DawnCHS

Mike

Jane and I went to see our good friend Mike today. He lives just outside Birmingham, so we do not get to see him very often.

I met him when we worked together, over 10 years ago; he drove a taxi and I told him what to do. I understood how special he was when I was 7 months pregnant with child #3 and had to ask him to take me to the hospital at 7am when I was poorly. He drove me to the hospital and offered to stay with me, when my husband wouldn't, meaning he would miss work to do so. I sent him off to work while I wandered into the hospital. It turned out I had appendicitis, and was operated on that day. It struck me that this work colleague cared more than my husband and that cemented a friendship that has lasted ever since. (The husband, however, didn't last much longer at all...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.