Fi

By Fi

Turkish Delight

Sunset at Eminonu, Istanbul

After a busy last day at the office on Friday, it was straight to the bar for refreshments and chat that lasted until late. That meant that my Saturday morning was fragile but I sensibly laid low until lunchtime when I felt ready to face the world. The weather was a bit glum but awfully humid, which wasn't great, but after an hour or so of mooching about the Spice Bazaar I came out to glorious sunshine and blue skies. I had a nice late mezze lunch in Sultanhamet, paid a brief visit to the Grand Bazaar and then took the Bosphorus again by ferry and spent the late afternoon in Asia before returning to Eminonu on the last ferry of the day, as the sun was lowering itself in the sky. I stood at the lower side of Galata Bridge for absolutely ages, watching the sunset, people watching (including the fishermen above) and just taking it all in. I took many many photos and could have easily done another montage of my favourites. But, this was one of several sun-setting pictures that just had to be posted on its own. Wished I had been a bit closer, so not to have to crop it to within an inch of its life but I'm pleased with how it's come out and haven't made any changes to it at all (other than the crop).

I returned for a fried-fish sandwich from the bobbing boats as day turned to night and then walked across the bridge for the final time to Beyoglu, caught the funicular before it closed and was pleased to reach my hotel!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.