Long way home

We headed back down from Durness today. There's something hugely satisfying about the rain and brutal weather setting in just as you head home from your holiday. Saying that it was a miserable drive down the road (for Roz, I don't drive).

We left Durness at about quarter to ten this morning and, with a half hour stop or so at Ullapool for a coffee and a chance to see the tall ships then another half hour stop at Loch Insch, we made it cack home at about quarter to six this evening. It was a long journey, which got me thinking of this song.

Ullapool was a surreal experience though, I've never seen it anywhere near that busy. The streets were thronged with people even despite the poor weather. I wish we could have stayed a bit longer. Apparently they were set to make an attempt at the biggest ever strip the willow this evening.

Looking forward to a good night's sleep in my own bed tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.