air and kilometers

By brittanielynn

future roommates

18/365
Here is another great shot of my favorite dynamic duo. I had some other photos lined up for today, but this was the most summative, in my opinion.

Tonight, on our way home from barnes and noble, Stephen and I threw around the topic of our future status as roommates. I guess we always just assumed we'd stay in the same apartment complex that I live in now, but we decided that venturing outside this building would really widen our opportunities. So, today marks our first unofficial apartment search endeavor. Online of course.

This whole process is going to be a first for both of us. Since graduating from college, I moved in with my older sister and then my older brother, who both already were established. Thus, apartment hunting is not exactly on my major qualifications list. This should be interesting.

We know a few things about what we want, at least. Two bedrooms, accessible to NYC transportation, and pet-friendly.

We also casually discussed our future home-decor and how exciting it will be to finally have free range in that department. We definitely want a cozy atmosphere, with bold colors. Mustard or canary yellow kitchen. Red microwave. Big, plush, brown couches. That's all we came up with so far. We've decided that we have similar taste, which does simplify the process.

Growing up, you never think that you'll ever be old enough to actually be doing these types of adult things: planning a wedding, looking for and decorating an apartment. Watching others accomplish these things from afar, and usually in the midst of your own endeavors, these things seem easy and fun, but they're actually very detailed and work-intensive. I certainly hope we'll be able to pull it all off the way we envision it...to some extent at least!

Procrastination is never the answer, but the process is intimidating. Taking one step at a time, and keeping your partner in crime by your side are the keys to success. Oh, and having an adorable cat helps as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.