Buddleja

This is a Hornet Mimic Hoverfly (Volucella zonaria) which I snapped as I was getting in to my car. I've had a busy day with washing and clearing the front garden - okay not entirely clearing it but the postie can now at least see a path from the gate to the door. I had decided to jump in the car and waste some valuable fuel pootling around looking for a blip but as I settled myself I glanced out and saw action on the flowers. I decided to make sure that I could fully describe what this little rascal is so I hit iSpot (a wonderful resource for identifying animals of any size and shape) and having found what it is I decided to upload my observation. I also wanted to put the name of the flower and I was surprised to find that the world appears to spell it with a J whereas for all of my life I've known it to be spelt "Buddleia"

So there you are - I know that everyone reading this will be saying "Oh yes, he's behind as usual" but it came as a surprise to me. The working bit of Monday is nearly done so if your day has been blighted by employment you can play out soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.