Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Greenwich footway tunnel

Halfway into my 90 minute train journey to London I had a message to say the meeting I was going to was postponed until tomorrow. The dilemma then is to carry on or turn around at the next stop and head home. Having forked out over £40 for a ticket and nearly £6 for car parking I decided to carry on and make the most of a couple of spare hours.

I took the footway tunnel heading south under the Thames from Island Gardens and walked along the river front, around Greenwich Park and up to the Royal Observatory for the views over London. The prime meridian runs through my house so its somewhat amusing to see people queing up to cross the line - something I do whenever I go into the kitchen.

The tunnel was opened in 1902 as a short cut for dockers employed in the Millwall and West India docks on the Isle of Dogs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.