12views

By 12views

Doing CPR - My first wedding photography day

"May 'for better or worse' be far better than worse" - Unknown

My first formal experience of Wedding Photography today - working under an amazingly talented and personable photographer - was a mixture of fun, trauma and hard graft.

It started with rain - lots and lots and lots of rain... Having held an umbrella for the boss so that we could get entry shots for the church without the equipment drowning, the rain eased off and the day started to look a whole lot better.

That was when a woman ran over asking if we had a phone as a lady had collapsed on the footpath around the back of the church. I was told to go by the boss and did. Amazingly the three first aid courses I've done seemed to all jump into mind and I was able to asses what was going on. Then the young lady stopped breathing and I was talked through CPR by the woman on the phone, thankfully not for too long till the paramedic arrived with the electric pads that brought her around. The ambulance arrived a few minutes after and she was assisted in breathing as she was stretchered off - guess I'll never know what actually happened to her...

Thankfully the ambulance pulled away as the wedding party came out of the church so didn't get in the way of the big day. Did take me a while to get my photo head back again, but I got some reasonable shots and learn't a great deal working with my friend (it's funny I know how good a photographer they were, but I didn't realise they were quite that shockingly amazing!). It was a wonderful wedding, the people were lovely, so many smiles and a super atmosphere - can't wait to see the results...

(BTW - didn't actually have my camera to take personal shots today so this is a photo creation from my phone....)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.