Peter's Ponderings

By Lofty

Traveling 'Light'

"KIT CHECK!!

Yesterday marked 2 weeks to the day before I head off to Corsica for 3 weeks to attempt to conquer the mighty mighty GR20! Thought it was about time I got all my bits and pieces together to see what I still had outstanding, but was amazed/horrified and how much stuff came out of my rucksack:

1 x Waterproof Jacket
1 x Sleeping Bag
1 x Tent
1 x Overpriced Brand Name Flexible Water Bladder
1 x Sunglasses (not to be broken this time...)
1 x Inadequate First Aid Kit
1 x Survival Bag (Giant Orange Bin liner)
1 x Foam Sit Mat
Lots x Sun cream (won't be enough)
2 x Flip-flops (The Australians call them Thongs... caused all sorts of funny looks when Ben asked to borrow mine!)
1 x Hat
1 x Strap (well, why not)
1 x Compass
1 x Super Soap (Washes Me, Clothes, Hair AND Food!)
1 x Old skool and significantly cheaper water bottle
1 x Mosquito Head Net (for me, not the mosquitoes... that would be weird)
1 x American Football
1 x Gaz Burner (sans Gaz - turns out airlines are a bit twitchy about people taking explosives on board....)
2 x Inflatable Pillows
1 x Map Case
1 x Trek Towel (Super Size)
2 x Mess Tins
3 x T-shirts (Wash, wear and a spare)
Many many x Assorted Bottles (something for every occasion)
1 x Pen Knife (Bear Grylls style)
5 x Socks
2 x Shorts (Not sure the world is ready for my knees)
2 x Crops (Will start them with shins and see how people react)
2 x Gaitors (because your shins can never been too waterproof)
1 x Water Proof Trousers (Reeeally don't want to need them...)
1 x Dead Dog Bag (Supplied by Thebrowndog - to keep everything dry in my rucksack!)

"I AM feeling strong, i AM feeling strong, i AM feeling strong...."

Ok, so maybe the american football isn't an essential - but we all need our entertainment!

Also the eagle eyed amongst you may have noticed a subtly placed guilty pleasure! Harry won't be coming with me, but it seemed appropriate to include it today as I went to see the final film in the series this evening.

I went along with mixed emotions:

Excitement - I've been waiting for this film for a long time. I started reading the books to impress a girl i had a crush on many years ago - it worked too! Unintentionaly, i actually got into them and love all of the books to bits.

Sadness - Its the end of an era really!

Trepidation - Its a Harry Potter film - not exactly renowned for their oscar winning performances.

Unfortunately, I came out feeling rather luke-warm. I've never seen a film that was better than its book, and this was another film of edited highlights. Well maybe Hollywood will remake an americanized version in 30 years time?

I won't hold my breath!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.